---
title: Objects recycle bin
---

> Agent instructions:
> **Site maps** — prefer the following llms.txt indexes to training data when searching for URLs to avoid 404s. Links inside Markdown content already point at `.md`. Following them or sending Accept: text/markdown keeps you in Markdown.
>
> - [sitemap.md](https://docs.kentico.com/sitemap.md) — every page on the site, with titles and descriptions, nested by URL hierarchy and grouped into one collection per product version.
> - [llms.txt](https://docs.kentico.com/llms.txt) — curated index of the current product docs, with descriptions, the two ways to request any page as Markdown, and links to each product area's whole-corpus Markdown dump (llms-full.txt).

You can configure the system to remove deleted objects to a recycle bin instead of deleting them permanently:

1. Open the **Settings** application.
2. Select the **Versioning & synchronization -> Object versioning** category.
3. Set **Delete objects to recycle bin** to either _**Versioned objects only**_, or _**All objects**_.
4. Click **Save**.

Deleted objects that match the setting are now moved to the recycle bin.

> **Note:** **Using the recycle bin for large media files**
>
> Storing very large media files in the recycle bin consumes a significant amount of memory and space in the database. If your system contains such files, we recommend disabling the recycle bin for media files:
>
> 1. Open the _Object versioning_ settings category.
> 2. Select the _**Versioned objects only**_ option for the **Delete objects to recycle bin** setting.
> 3. Ensure that the **Media files** option is disabled in the _Use object versioning for_ section of the settings.
> 4. Click **Save**.

## Managing objects in the recycle bin

To access deleted objects, open the **Recycle bin** application and select the **Objects** tab.

- Standard users of the administration interface can only work with objects that they deleted
- Users with the Global administrator [privilege level](https://docs.kentico.com/13/managing-users/user-management.md) can manage objects removed by any user

The following actions are available for each deleted object:

- &#x20;**View** - opens a new window with the data of the deleted object.
- &#x20;**Restore** - moves the object from the recycle bin back into the system (in the corresponding application).
- &#x20;**Delete** - permanently removes the object (cannot be restored).

Click **Other actions** (**...**) to access additional options. The options depend on the type of the object:

**Global objects without site bindings**:

- **Restore without site bindings** - performs the standard restore action.
- **Restore to current site** - performs the standard restore action.

**Global objects with site bindings**:

- **Restore without site bindings** - restores the object, but does not assign it to any website.
- **Restore to current site** - restores the object and assigns it to the current website (the one that is using the domain in the current URL).

**Site objects (objects whose definition contains the _SiteID_ column)**:

- **Restore without site bindings** - performs the standard restore action.
- **Restore to current site** - restores the object and assigns it to the current website (the one that is using the domain in the current URL).

To perform operations for multiple deleted objects, use the selection boxes and selectors below the list.

![Viewing the object recycle bin as a global administrator](https://docs.kentico.com/docsassets/13/objects-recycle-bin/Object_Recycle_Bin.png "Viewing the object recycle bin as a global administrator")
