AI agents: the content index is at /llms.txt. Every page is also available as Markdown — send the request header Accept: text/markdown, or append .md to the page URL.
Xperience Docs

Cookie consent

We use necessary cookies (opens in a new tab) to run our website and improve your experience while browsing. Additional cookies are only used with your consent. You may revoke your consent on the Cookies Policy (opens in a new tab) page or in your browser at any time.

Configure (opens in a new tab)
  • Documentation
    InstallationUsing the Xperience interfaceDeveloping websitesConfiguring XperienceManaging usersSecuring websitesDeploying websitesManaging website contentMultilingual websitesMacro expressionsExternal utilitiesIntegrating 3rd party systemsCustom developmentE-commerce featuresOn-line marketing featuresRelease notes - Xperience 13Xperience terminology glossary
  • Tutorial
    Using the Xperience interfaceDeveloper tutorialBusiness tutorialResource hub for marketers
  • API Examples
    ConfigurationContent managementDevelopmentE-commerceOn-line marketingSocial media
  • Community Questions & Answers (opens in a new tab)
  • Contact support (opens in a new tab)
  1. Home
  2. Managing users
  3. Configuring permissions
  4. Configuring page permissions
  5. Permissions for all content

Permissions for all content


Was this page helpful?

Send us feedback Go back to top

In the Permissions application, you can find a permission matrix for controlling role permissions to all pages within the content tree (in the Pages application).

To configure permissions for all content:

  1. Open the Permissions application.
  2. In the first Permissions for drop-down list, choose Module.
  3. In the second drop-down list, choose Content.

The changes you make on the permission matrix apply immediately.

You can grant the following permissions to roles:

Browse tree

Allows members of the role to view the page content tree in the Pages application (not necessarily the actual page content – that is determined by the Read permission). For users without this permission, the system blocks the entire Pages application.

Read

Allows members of the role to access and view the Page, Content and Properties tabs for pages in the Pages application.

The Read permission is also required to access applications in the Content management category that are related to pages (such as Checked-out items, Former URLs, My pages, Outdated pages, Pending pages, Recent pages).

Modify

Allows members of the role to make the following changes:

  • Edit content of pages on the Page and Content tabs.
  • Move pages in the content tree.
  • Move pages between workflow steps on the Page and Content tabs.
  • Modify the majority of page properties with the exception of Security and Workflow properties.
    • To modify the Security properties, only the Modify permissions permission is required.
    • To modify the Workflow properties, only the Manage workflow permission is required.
  • Delete former URLs of pages (redirects) in the Former URLs applications.

Check in any page

Authorizes members of the role to perform the Check-in and Undo check-out actions on the Properties -> Versions tab.

Create

Allows members of the role to create pages of any page type in the content tree.

Delete

Allows members of the role to delete any page in the content tree.

Manage workflow

Allows members of the role to approve or reject any page at any workflow step on the Properties -> Workflow tab.

Note: The Modify permission is required to move pages between workflow steps on the Page and Content tabs.

Destroy

Allows members of the role to destroy pages, i.e., delete without the Undo option.

Modify permissions

Allows members of the role to manage page-level permissions of any page on the Properties -> Security tab.

Note that the Modify permission is not necessary for managing page-level permissions.

Submit for translation

Allows members of the role to create new language versions of pages using Translation services.

Manage page templates

Allows members of the role to work with custom page templates. The permission is required for the following:

  • Viewing and deleting custom page templates in the Administration interface application
  • Saving the content of pages as a custom template

This permission is NOT required to configure page template properties or change the template of existing pages (these actions require the Modify permission instead).

Manage alternative URLs

Allows members of the role to add, edit and remove alternative URLs for pages.