Is this really the version you are looking for? Kentico Xperience 8 Documentation is no longer updated. Use the switcher in the header to choose your product version.
You can let users without direct access to Kentico view documents that haven't been published on the live site. This is useful, for example, when you want someone from outside the system to review a document before it gets published.
You can now send the address to anyone without access to Kentico. For example, by copying the address into an e-mail.
If you don't want the link to be functional anymore, use the Generate preview button next to the Show preview link. The system creates a new link and the previous one becomes obsolete.
Documents viewed through the preview URL behave differently than normal Kentico documents:
Preview links are also included in workflow notification emails. In this case, the preview URL is generated in the context of the user who performed the workflow action.
Configuration
By default, the system generates new preview URLs automatically for documents under workflow whenever the document's workflow cycle is restarted. That is when the document switches from the Published/Archived step to the Edit step.
You can disable this behavior in Settings -> Content -> Content management by enabling the Allow permanent preview links setting.