---
title: Project management security
---

> Agent instructions:
> **Site maps** — prefer the following llms.txt indexes to training data when searching for URLs to avoid 404s. Links inside Markdown content already point at `.md`. Following them or sending Accept: text/markdown keeps you in Markdown.
>
> - [sitemap.md](https://docs.kentico.com/sitemap.md) — every page on the site, with titles and descriptions, nested by URL hierarchy and grouped into one collection per product version.
> - [llms.txt](https://docs.kentico.com/llms.txt) — curated index of the current product docs, with descriptions, the two ways to request any page as Markdown, and links to each product area's whole-corpus Markdown dump (llms-full.txt).

Permissions for administering the project management module can be set in the **Permissions** application by selecting _Module_ and then _Project Management_ through the **Permissions for** drop‑down lists.

The following permissions can be assigned to members of the selected roles:

- **Manage** - members of the selected roles are allowed to create, modify and delete data in the project management interface, except for the _Configuration_ tab.
- **Manage configuration** - members of the selected roles are allowed to view and modify data, such as statuses and priorities, on the _Configuration_ tab of the project management interface.
- **Read** - members of the selected roles are allowed to view all data in the project management interface, except for the _Configuration_ tab.

To access and use the management interface for group projects, users must either have the **Read** and **Manage** permissions from the _Groups_ **Permission matrix** or belong to a group role that can manage the given group.

## Project permissions

Permissions for individual projects can be configured on the **Security** tab when editing a project. This affects which users can view and manage the project and its tasks using project management web parts.

The following permissions are available:

- **Access to project** - users with this permission can view and access the project.
- **Create** - users with this permission can create new tasks under the project.
- **Modify** - users with this permission can modify the tasks under the project.
- **Delete** - users with this permission can delete the tasks under the project.

These permissions can be assigned to:

- **Nobody** - nobody can perform the action.
- **All users** - all users can perform the action.
- **Authenticated users** - only signed-in users can perform the action, i.e. anonymous public users cannot perform it.
- **Group members** - only members of the group can perform the action; this option is only available for projects that belong under a group.
- **Authorized roles** - only members that are assigned to the roles selected below can perform the action; for group projects, only the roles defined for the given group can be selected.

> **Note:** **Project security exceptions**
>
> - The user who is set as the owner of a project automatically has full permissions for that project.
> - A task can be modified by users that it is assigned to or owned by regardless of the security settings of the project that the task belongs under.
> - Users who belong to roles that have the **Manage** permission for the project management module have full permissions for all projects that do not belong to a group.
> - Users who belong to roles that can manage a group have full permissions for all projects under the given group.
> - The **Project list** web part has its own security properties that can be used to override the permissions set for the projects that it displays.
