Message boards notifications

Message boards allow users to subscribe for notifications about messages that have been added to a message board.

Who can be notified

When a new message is added or edited, the system can send notifications to:

  • Board moderators
  • Subscribers

The following text explains who are the notifications' recipients under specific conditions.

New message inserted

1. The message has been added by a board moderator, user with the Global administrator privilege level, board owner (in case of a user board), user with the Modify permission, or group administrator (in case of group boards):

  • the message is marked as APPROVED
  • the email is sent to subscribers

2. The message has been added by anybody else

a) the board is moderated

  • the message is marked as NOT APPROVED
  • the email is sent to the moderators

b) the board is not moderated

  • the message is marked as APPROVED
  • the email is sent to the subscribers

Existing message edited

1. The message is switched from NOT APPROVED to APPROVED

  • the email is sent to subscribers

2. Other message changes

  • no email is sent

Message boards email templates

There are two different email templates that can be used when sending notifications to subscribers and board moderators:

  • Subscribers - emails are based on the Boards - Notification to board subscribers template.
  • Moderators - emails are based on the Boards - Notification to board moderators template.

There is also a template that is used when double opt-in is enabled - Boards - Subscription request.

The following macros can be used in the notification emails:

Data macros

  • Board.XXX - where XXX are columns of the Board_Board table.
  • Message.XXX - where XXX are columns of the Board_Message table.
  • MessageUser.XXX - where XXX are columns of the CMS_User table.
  • MessageUserSettings.XXX - where XXX are columns of the CMS_UserSettings table.

Source macros

  • DocumentLink - link to the page where the board is placed.
  • SubscriptionLink - link used to confirm the subscription when double opt-in is enabled.
  • UnsubscriptionLink - unsubscription link.
On this page

Related pages

Was this page helpful?