---
title: Deleting pages
---

> Agent instructions:
> **Site maps** — prefer the following llms.txt indexes to training data when searching for URLs to avoid 404s. Links inside Markdown content already point at `.md`. Following them or sending Accept: text/markdown keeps you in Markdown.
>
> - [sitemap.md](https://docs.kentico.com/sitemap.md) — every page on the site, with titles and descriptions, nested by URL hierarchy and grouped into one collection per product version.
> - [llms.txt](https://docs.kentico.com/llms.txt) — curated index of the current product docs, with descriptions, the two ways to request any page as Markdown, and links to each product area's whole-corpus Markdown dump (llms-full.txt).

In this topic you can learn about:

If you need to delete multiple pages at once, see [Multiple page operations](https://docs.kentico.com/k10/managing-website-content/working-with-pages/multiple-page-operations.md).

## Deleting pages in the Pages application

1. Open the **Pages** application.
2. Click on the page or the page that you want to delete.
3. Click on **Delete** (). A **Delete page** dialog opens.
4. Specify the deletion options:
   - **Destroy page and its history (page cannot be restored)** - select the check box if you want to make sure the page cannot be [restored later](#restoring-deleted-pages).\
     Note that [linked pages](https://docs.kentico.com/k10/managing-website-content/working-with-pages/copying-and-moving-pages-creating-linked-pages.md)  are never moved to the recycle bin and you cannot [restore](#restoring-deleted-pages) them once they are deleted.
   - **Redirect old URLs to another page** - ensures that when users visit a link to the deleted page, the system redirects them to a different page instead.
     - **Page** - specify which page users see instead of the one you delete.
     - **Redirect all page aliases** - select the check box to make the website use the redirection page for all available URLs of the deleted page.
     - **Redirect all child pages** - select the check box to use the redirection page for all child page.![](https://docs.kentico.com/docsassets/k10/deleting-pages/deleting_pages.png)
5. Confirm by clicking **Yes**.

The system deletes the page. If you specified that you don't want the system to _destroy page and its history_, you can [restore](#restoring-deleted-pages) the page at any time.

## Deleting pages on the Live site

To be able to delete pages on the Live site, your administrator needs to enable On-site editing on the site.

1. Log on to the live site.
2. Click on the **Edit page** ()button in the top left corner.
3. Navigate to the page that you want to delete.
4. Click on **Delete** () on the top bar. A **Delete page** dialog appears.
5. Specify the deletion options:
   - **Destroy page and its history (page cannot be restored)** - select the check box if you want to make sure the page cannot be [restored later](#restoring-deleted-pages).\
     Note that [linked pages](https://docs.kentico.com/k10/managing-website-content/working-with-pages/copying-and-moving-pages-creating-linked-pages.md) are never moved to the recycle bin and you cannot [restore](#restoring-deleted-pages) them once they are deleted.
   - **Redirect old URLs to another page** - ensures that when users visit a link to the deleted page, the system redirects them to a different page instead.
     - **Page** - specify which page users see instead of the one you delete.
     - **Redirect all page aliases** - select the check box to make the website use the redirection page for all available URLs of the deleted page.
     - **Redirect all child pages** - select the check box to use the redirection page for all child page.![](https://docs.kentico.com/docsassets/k10/deleting-pages/deleting_pages.png)
6. Confirm by clicking **Yes**.

The system deletes the page. If you specified that you don't want the system to _destroy page and its history_, you can [restore](#restoring-deleted-pages) the page at any time.

## Deleting multiple pages at once

If you need to delete multiple pages at once, see [Multiple page operations](https://docs.kentico.com/k10/managing-website-content/working-with-pages/multiple-page-operations.md).

## Restoring deleted pages

You can restore pages (as well as objects) that you deleted. An exception are pages that were destroyed instead of just deleted.

To restore deleted pages:

1. Open the **Recycle bin** application on the **Pages** tab.
2. (Optional) Specify the pages that you want to restore using the filter above the list of deleted pages. 

   ![](https://docs.kentico.com/docsassets/k10/deleting-pages/filtering_pages.png)
3. (Optional) Use the **View** button next to the pages in the **Bin** to view their details before restoring them.
4. Use the **Restore ****** button to undo the deletion of a page.

   > **Tip:** To restore multiple pages at once, turn the check boxes next to these pages on. Then use the drop-down list under the selected pages to specify the **Restore&#x20;**&#x20;action and click on **OK**.

   ![](https://docs.kentico.com/docsassets/k10/deleting-pages/selecting_pages.png)
5. A dialog appears, confirm by clicking on **OK**.

The system restores the deleted pages back at their original location.

## Emptying the page recycle bin

You can empty the page recycle bin to remove the deleted pages out of the system permanently.

To empty the page recycle bin:

1. Open the **Recycle bin** application on the **Pages** tab.
2. (Optional) If you want to delete specific pages only, use the filter above the list of deleted pages. 

   ![](https://docs.kentico.com/docsassets/k10/deleting-pages/filtering_pages.png)
3. (Optional) Use the **View** button next to the pages in the **Bin** to view their details before removing them from the system permanently.
4. (Optional) Select the pages that you want to delete using the check-box next to the pages.
5. Use the drop-down list under the listed pages to specify whether you want to remove **Selected pages** or **All pages**.
6. Select the **Destroy permanently** option in the second drop-down list under the listed pages.

   > **Tip:** To remove a single pages from the system, use the **Destroy permanently**  button next to a page.

   ![](https://docs.kentico.com/docsassets/k10/deleting-pages/destroying_pages.png)
7. Click on **OK**.

The system removes the pages permanently.
