Is this really the version you are looking for? Kentico Xperience 9 Documentation is no longer updated. Use the switcher in the header to choose your product version.
The versioning functionality in workflows automatically stores page versions as pages are edited. Versioning allows users to:
Page versioning is closely tied to the Workflows application. To use versioning on pages, you need to apply a workflow on them. If you don't want pages to go through any workflow process and use versioning at the same time, refer to Configuring content versioning without workflow.
Content versioning is about automatically creating numbered versions of pages. If you are looking for versioning of objects (CSS stylesheets, e-mail templates, web part containers, etc.), refer to the Working with object versioning chapter.
Every page version is identified by a version number. By default, the system assigns numbers to versions automatically according to the following rules:
If you use content locking, you can disable the automatic numbering in Settings -> Content -> Content management, by turning off the Use automatic version numbering setting.
You can change the length of version history by configuring the Version history length property in Settings -> Content -> Content management.
Navigate to the page whose versions you want to view.
Switch to Properties -> Versions.
Click View next to the version you want to view.
Select a version for comparison using the Compare to drop-down list.
When comparing page versions, the older version appears on the left.
Navigate to the page that you want to roll back to a previous version.
Switch to Properties -> Versions.
Click Roll back next to a version.