Groups security

Restricting access to group pages

You can restrict access to group pages so that they cannot be accessed by users outside the group or by public users.

  1. In the Groups application, Edit a group.
  2. On the General tab, under Content access, select:
    • Site members can view the content - only users registered on the site will be able to view the pages belonging to the group.
    • Only group members can view the content - only users who are members of the group will be able to view the pages belonging to the group.
  3. Save.
  4. In the Pages application, open the page to which you want to restrict access.
  5. Go to Properties -> General.
  6. Under Owner -> Owned by group, click Change and select the group that owns the page.
  7. On the Design tab, place the Group security access web part on the page. The page needs to contain this web part to be able to check group permissions.
  8. Set the URL users will be redirected to in the Groups security access denied path property. You can also set the property globally or for the whole site in Settings -> Community -> Groups security access denied path.
    • We recommend redirecting users to a page containing the Group security message web part.

Group role permissions

You can assign the following permissions to members of selected roles. These permissions affect all groups on the site.

  • Manage - allows managing of groups via the administration interface.
  • Read - allows viewing group settings, but does not allow any changes to be made to these settings.

Group pages permissions

The following are permissions that you can adjust for each individual group. You can set these permissions by editing a group and selecting the Security tab.

  • Create pages - users can create group pages.
  • Delete pages - users can delete group pages.
  • Edit pages - users can edit group pages.

These permissions can be assigned to:

  • Nobody - nobody can perform the action.
  • All users - all users can perform the action.
  • Authenticated users - only signed-in users can perform the action, i.e.¬†anonymous public users cannot perform the action.
  • Group members - only group members can perform the action, i.e.¬†authenticated non-group members and anonymous users cannot perform the action.
  • Authorized roles - only members of the group roles selected below can perform the action. You can select only roles that belong to the group you are editing.

Group administrator permissions

Group administrators can perform any of these actions, even if they do not have the permissions assigned.