Settings - Object versioning

General

Enable object versioning

Globally enables or disables object versioning. This option is enabled by default. If disabled, no versions are created when objects are modified.

Delete objects to recycle bin

Determines which objects the system stores in the recycle bin when they are deleted.

  • No - no objects are moved to recycle bin when deleted, i.e. they are deleted permanently.
  • Versioned objects only - only objects that support versioning and have versioning enabled are moved to the recycle bin when deleted. You can select the objects in the Use object versioning for section of the settings below.
  • All objects - all objects that support staging synchronization are moved to the recycle bin when deleted.

Note: Storing very large media files in the recycle bin consumes a significant amount of memory and space in the database. If your system contains such files, we recommend selecting the Versioned objects only option and keeping versioning disabled for Media files.

Team development

Use check-in/check-out for objects

Indicates if object locking (check-in/check-out) should be used for virtual objects. See Preparing your environment for team development.

Keep new objects checked out

Indicates if new objects are automatically checked out upon creation.

Version history

Version history length (minor versions)

Indicates how many minor versions of a single object will be stored in its version history. If the number of versions exceeds this value, the oldest version is deleted. If set to 0, minor versions history length is not limited.

Version history length (major versions) Indicates how many major versions of a single object will be stored in its version history. If the number of major versions exceeds this value, the oldest versions are deleted. If set to 0, major versions history length is not limited.

Save to last version if younger than (minutes)

If an object is edited and saved within this number of minutes since it was last saved, changes made to it are saved to the last version. If it is saved after more minutes since it was last saved, a new version is created. If set to 0, a new version is created whenever you save an edited object.

Promote to major version if older than (hours)

If an object is edited and saved after this number of hours since it was last saved, a new major version is created. If it is saved earlier, a new minor version is created or the changes are saved to the latest version (depending on the setting above). If set to 0, major versions are never created automatically.

Use object versioning for

Alternative forms

Indicates if versioning of page type, on-line form and custom table alternative forms is allowed.

Automation processes Indicates if versioning of marketing automation process objects is allowed.

CSS stylesheets

Indicates if versioning of CSS stylesheets is allowed.

Custom table definitions

Indicates if versioning of custom table definitions is allowed.

Page type definitions

Indicates if versioning of page type definitions is allowed.

Email templates

Indicates if versioning of email templates is allowed.

Form definitions

Indicates if versioning of on-line form definitions is allowed (in the Forms application).

Media files

Indicates if versioning of media library files is allowed.

Note: Versioning of very large media files may consume an extensive amount of database space and memory. This option is disabled by default.

Media files versioned extensions

Extensions of versioned media files. Only media files with extensions enumerated here will be versioned.

Emails

Indicates if versioning of campaign emails is allowed.

Email campaign templates

Indicates if versioning of email campaign templates is allowed.

Page layouts

Indicates if versioning of page layouts is allowed.

Page templates

Indicates if versioning of page templates is allowed.

Queries

Indicates if versioning of page type and custom table queries is allowed. Only custom queries are versioned – system queries are not versioned because they are re-generated by the system automatically when their parent object is modified.

Report graphs

Indicates if versioning of report graphs is allowed.

Report tables

Indicates if versioning of report tables is allowed.

Report values

Indicates if versioning of report values is allowed.

Report definitions

Indicates if versioning of report definitions is allowed.

Template device layout Indicates if versioning is allowed for device layouts of page templates.

Transformations

Indicates if versioning of page type and custom table transformations is allowed.

UI element Indicates if versioning of UI elements is allowed.

Web part containers

Indicates if versioning of web part containers is allowed.

Web part layouts

Indicates if versioning of web part layouts is allowed.

Workflows

Indicates if versioning of workflow objects is allowed.


Was this page helpful?