---
title: Groups security
---

> Agent instructions:
> **Site maps** — prefer the following llms.txt indexes to training data when searching for URLs to avoid 404s. Links inside Markdown content already point at `.md`. Following them or sending Accept: text/markdown keeps you in Markdown.
>
> - [sitemap.md](https://docs.kentico.com/sitemap.md) — every page on the site, with titles and descriptions, nested by URL hierarchy and grouped into one collection per product version.
> - [llms.txt](https://docs.kentico.com/llms.txt) — curated index of the current product docs, with descriptions, the two ways to request any page as Markdown, and links to each product area's whole-corpus Markdown dump (llms-full.txt).

## Restricting access to group pages

You can restrict access to group pages so that they cannot be accessed by users outside the group or by public users.

1. In the **Groups** application, **Edit** a group.
2. On the **General** tab, under **Content access**, select:
   - _Site members can view the content_ - only users registered on the site will be able to view the pages belonging to the group.
   - _Only group members can view the content_ - only users who are members of the group will be able to view the pages belonging to the group.
3. **Save**.
4. In the **Pages** application, open the page to which you want to restrict access.
5. Go to **Properties -> General**.
6. Under **Owner -> Owned by group**, click **Change** and select the group that owns the page.
7. On the **Design** tab, place the **Group security access** web part on the page. The page needs to contain this web part to be able to check group permissions.
8. Set the URL users will be redirected to in the **Groups security access denied path** property. You can also set the property globally or for the whole site in **Settings -> Community -> Groups security access denied path.**
   - We recommend redirecting users to a page containing the **Group security message** web part.

## Group role permissions

You can assign the following permissions to members of selected roles. These permissions affect all groups on the site.

- **Manage** - allows managing of groups via the administration interface.
- **Read** - allows viewing group settings, but does not allow any changes to be made to these settings.

## Group pages permissions

The following are permissions that you can adjust for each individual group. You can set these permissions by editing a group and selecting the **Security** tab.

- **Create pages** - users can create group pages.
- **Delete pages** - users can delete group pages.
- **Edit pages** - users can edit group pages.

These permissions can be assigned to:

- **Nobody** - nobody can perform the action.
- **All users** - all users can perform the action.
- **Authenticated users** - only signed-in users can perform the action, i.e. anonymous public users cannot perform the action.
- **Group members** - only group members can perform the action, i.e. authenticated non-group members and anonymous users cannot perform the action.
- **Authorized roles** - only members of the group roles selected below can perform the action. You can select only roles that belong to the group you are editing.

> **Info:** **Group administrator permissions**
>
> Group administrators can perform any of these actions, even if they do not have the permissions assigned.
