AI agents: the content index is at /llms.txt. Every page is also available as Markdown — send the request header Accept: text/markdown, or append .md to the page URL.
Xperience Docs

Cookie consent

We use necessary cookies (opens in a new tab) to run our website and improve your experience while browsing. Additional cookies are only used with your consent. You may revoke your consent on the Cookies Policy (opens in a new tab) page or in your browser at any time.

Configure (opens in a new tab)
  • Documentation
    Administration interface basicsDevelopers and adminsBusiness usersChangelogGlossary
  • Guides
    Welcome to Xperience by KenticoAdministration interface basicsCustomer journeysDigital marketingConfigurationDevelopmentArchitectureUpgrade to Xperience by Kentico
  • Training
    For AdminsFor Business usersFor DevelopersFor Solution architects
  • API Examples
    ConfigurationContent managementDevelopmentDigital marketing
  • Changelog
    Documentation updatesSecurity advisories
  1. Home
  2. Developers and admins
  3. Configuration
  4. Recycle bin management

Recycle bin management


Was this page helpful?

Send us feedback Go back to top
  • Community Questions & Answers (opens in a new tab)
  • Contact support (opens in a new tab)

Recycle bin preserves deleted pages, content items, emails and headless items, allowing users to recover content they accidentally deleted.

Adjust the retention policy

The system permanently deletes items in the recycle bin after a period of time specified by the retention policy to prevent content from accumulating. By default, deleted items are kept for 30 days.

To adjust the policy:

  1. Open the Settings application.
  2. Go to the Content → Recycle bin category.
  3. Set the number of days after which an item in the recycle bin will be permanently deleted.
  4. Save the changes.

Choosing the policy

When choosing the retention policy, balance the needs of the users and the available storage space. Note that assets, such as pictures or videos, uploaded to content items remain on the file system until the item is deleted permanently.

Setting the policy limit too low can lead to the loss of content that users want to restore, while setting it too high can result in consuming too much storage space if the items in the bin include large assets.

Permissions

Users need to be granted the View permission to access the recycle bin application and work with their items in the recycle bin. Each user with a View permission can perform these actions for the items they deleted:

  • restore an item
  • permanently delete an item

The administrator and users with the Manage recycle bin permission can see all items in the recycle bin, including items deleted by other users, and they can restore or permanently delete any item.

However, to successfully restore an item, users also need to have the Create permission for the space where the item will be restored:

  • Emails and headless items – Create permission for the relevant headless or email channel application
  • Content items – Create permission for the given workspace
  • Pages – Create permission for the original page location

On this page

  • Adjust the retention policy
  • Permissions

Related pages

  • Recycle bin