Xperience allows you to modify URLs of web pages on the URLs tab when editing a page in a website channel application. The system can also track changes of URLs and store old URLs for redirection purposes. These former URLs can be managed in the URLs application.
The following types of URLs are available for pages:
You can also create a temporary shareable preview URL and send it to reviewers who can't access the administration. This URL is not intended for regular live site visitors.
You may not be able to edit URL settings of every page. This depends on the configuration of the page's underlying content type. If you are not sure, consult with your site's administrator.
When you create a new page, the slug is automatically generated from the page's title. Past this point, any changes to the page title do not get reflected in the slug. You need to change it manually if required:
Open a website channel application.
In the content tree, select the page you want to edit.
Make sure the page is in the Draft status or another custom workflow step.
On the URLs tab, edit () the System URL.
Edit the URL slug in the dialog window and Save it.
Save the change.
You have now successfully changed the URL slug of the page. Note that the page is now a Draft. The page needs to be published in order to be accessible under the new system URL.
You may not be able to edit URL settings of every page. This depends on the configuration of the page's underlying content type. If you are not sure, consult with your site's administrator.
Vanity URLs are optional for pages and can be set at any time after a page is created. Once created, a vanity URL can be set as the canonical URL of the page. A page can have multiple vanity URLs. You can see all vanity URLs used across the system in the URLs application.
Open a website channel application.
In the content tree, select the page you want to edit.
Make sure the page is in the Draft status or another custom workflow step.
Select Add vanity URL in the Current URLs section.
Enter the Vanity URL path and confirm with Add.
Save the change.
You have now successfully added the new vanity URL of the page. Note that the page is now a Draft. The page needs to be published in order to be accessible under the new URL.
To edit a vanity URL of a page:
Navigate to the page whose vanity URL you want to edit. You can do so by: a. Opening the corresponding website channel application and selecting the page in the content tree. b. Going to the Vanity URLs tab in the URLs application and opening () the page corresponding to the chosen vanity URL.
Make sure the page is in the Draft status or another custom workflow step.
On the URLs tab, edit () the Vanity URL you want to change.
Edit the Vanity URL path in the dialog window and Save it.
Save the change.
You have now successfully changed the vanity URL of the page. Note that the page is now a Draft. The page needs to be published in order to be accessible under the new URL.
Open a website channel application.
In the content tree, select the page that you want to edit.
Make sure the page is in the Draft status or another custom workflow step.
On the URLs tab, delete () the desired Vanity URL and confirm the deletion.
Save the change.
You have now successfully deleted the vanity URL of the page. Note that the page is now a Draft. The page needs to be published to make it inaccessible under the deleted vanity URL.
You may not be able to edit URL settings of every page. This depends on the configuration of the page's underlying content type. If you are not sure, consult with your site's administrator.
Canonical URL is the preferred URL of a page, i.e., the URL that is displayed to the user in the browser URL bar and is intended to be indexed by search engines.
To set a URL as the canonical URL:
Open a website channel application.
In the content tree, select the page that you want to edit.
Make sure the page is in the Draft status or another custom workflow step.
On the URLs tab, select the Canonical option for the URL you want to make canonical. You can select from the page's vanity URLs and its system URL.
Save the change.
The selected URL is now configured as the canonical URL of the page. Note that the page is now a Draft. The page needs to be published to apply the change.
Canonical URL of the home page
The canonical URL of the home page of your website channel is, regardless of what URL is selected as canonical by the user, always the root URL of your website (i.e., https://example.com/). For channels using the language prefix URL format, this applies to the primary language, and other languages use https://example.com/<language_name>/. For channels using language-specific domains, the home page's canonical URL is always the root of each language's own domain.
You can edit active and scheduled redirects from unpublished pages on the URLs tab of the corresponding page. Active redirects can also be edited in the URLs application on the Former URLs tab. The advantage of the URLs application is that you can see and edit all redirects in one place. If no redirect was created when the page was unpublished, you can add it only on the URLs tab of the corresponding unpublished page.
To add a redirect from an unpublished page with no redirect:
You have now successfully added the redirect. When visitors try to reach the unpublished page, they are redirected to the page you selected.
To edit an existing redirect on the URLs tab:
Alternatively, you can edit existing redirects in the URLs application:
You have now successfully edited the redirect. When visitors try to reach the unpublished page, they are redirected to the page you selected.
If you want to delete a redirect from an unpublished page, you need to publish the page and unpublish it again without selecting a page to redirect to.
As deleted pages are no longer available in the system, redirects from deleted pages can be edited and deleted only in the URLs application. If no redirect was created when the page was deleted, a redirect from such a page can be added only via code.
To edit a redirect from a deleted page:
You have now successfully edited the redirect. When visitors try to reach the unpublished page, they are redirected to the page you selected.
Once a redirect from a deleted page has been deleted, it cannot be added again in the UI. Such redirects can be added only via code, for example, by developers.
To remove a redirect from a deleted page:
The redirect is now permanently removed.
A site cannot have two pages with identical URLs. Depending on the situation, the system handles collisions in two ways:
The system can automatically keep track of page URL changes by storing old URLs and handling redirects to the current URLs. You can see and manage these redirects in the URLs application on the Former URLs tab. Redirects created by unpublishing or deleting pages are stored and handled by default. You can additionally configure the system to create former URLs when a URL is edited and to redirect to the current URLs.
When a redirect target of a former URL is changed, all redirects that target the corresponding page are also automatically adjusted.
To configure the system to automatically store edited URLs as former URLs:
Former URLs are now created when URLs are edited in the given website channel. Every time a former URL is requested, the system returns a "301 Moved Permanently" response and redirects to the new URL of the page.
If the setting is disabled later, former URLs created up to that point will continue redirecting visitors to current URLs unless the former URLs are removed.
To access a list of all stored old URLs for the website, together with the current URL paths to which they are redirected, open the Former URLs tab in the URLs application.
Former URLs are created when you unpublish or delete a page and also create a redirect from the page. Additionally, you can configure the system to create former URLs when modifying page URLs.
Former URLs are always created when: | If configured to store edited URLs, former URLs are created when: |
|---|---|
|
|
Former URLs are NOT created when:
Changing the language code name or the primary language setting breaks all former URLs for the corresponding language variants of pages.
This action is available only for former URLs created by editing a page's URL or by deleting a page. Their remove button is active (). Former URLs that are created by unpublishing pages have a disabled delete button () and can't be deleted.
To remove a former URL:
The former URL is now permanently removed.