---
title: Rejoining the contact management database
related:
  - https://docs.kentico.com/k81/on-line-marketing-features/contact-management/separating-the-contact-management-database.md
---

> Agent instructions:
> **Site maps** — prefer the following llms.txt indexes to training data when searching for URLs to avoid 404s. Links inside Markdown content already point at `.md`. Following them or sending Accept: text/markdown keeps you in Markdown.
>
> - [sitemap.md](https://docs.kentico.com/sitemap.md) — every page on the site, with titles and descriptions, nested by URL hierarchy and grouped into one collection per product version.
> - [llms.txt](https://docs.kentico.com/llms.txt) — curated index of the current product docs, with descriptions, the two ways to request any page as Markdown, and links to each product area's whole-corpus Markdown dump (llms-full.txt).

> **Info:** **Kentico EMS required**
>
> Features described on this page require the **Kentico EMS** license.

The following steps describe how to return separated contact management database objects and data back to the application's main database.

> **Warning:** **Warning**
>
> - It is strongly recommended to backup both of your databases before starting the procedure.
> - The databases will be unavailable while the rejoining is in progress, so you should run the procedure at a time when no visitors or editors are accessing the websites in the system.

1. Open the **System** application.
2. Select the **DB separation** tab click **Join contact management DB with main DB**.
   - The **Database join** wizard starts.
3. Click **Disable tasks**.

   > **Info:** You need to prevent all [scheduled tasks](https://docs.kentico.com/k81/configuring-kentico/scheduling-tasks.md) in the system from running, because the databases will be unavailable during the joining process. If a task is currently being executed when you click the button, the disabling action waits until the task is finished. The tasks will automatically be enabled again after the databases are merged.

   ![Disabling scheduled tasks before joining databases](https://docs.kentico.com/docsassets/k81/rejoining-the-contact-management-database/joining_databases.png "Disabling scheduled tasks before joining databases")
4. Click **Next** to continue.
   - The wizard displays a log while the database operations are being performed.
   - During this stage, all websites in the system are temporarily switched to [Off-line mode](https://docs.kentico.com/k81/configuring-kentico/managing-sites/switching-sites-to-off-line-mode.md).
   - Any regular visitors who arrive at this time see a message informing that the site is down due to maintenance. For users with the Global administrator [privilege level](https://docs.kentico.com/k81/managing-users/user-management.md), the system shows the current state of the separation wizard.

> **Info:** When the process is successfully finished, all tables and data from the dedicated contact management database will again be a part of the application's main database. If you leave the **Delete separated database** option checked in the final step, the separated database is completely removed from the server.

5. Click **Finish**.
   - The system brings all websites back on-line and enables the inactive scheduled tasks.

Completing the wizard automatically deletes the **CMSOMConnectionString** connection string key from the application's _web.config_ file.

> **Note:** **Database rejoining on web farms**
>
> When reversing the database separation for an application running on a [Web farm](https://docs.kentico.com/k81/configuring-kentico/optimizing-website-performance/setting-up-web-farms.md), you need to manually remove the **CMSOMConnectionstring** from the _web.config_ files of all other servers.

> **Note:** **Database rejoining on Microsoft Azure**
>
>  If your contact management database was hosted on Microsoft Azure, you need to manually remove the separated tables after you rejoin the database.
